My heart is racing, pounding in my chest, pounding in my ears
I search for comfort, to ease these intense fears
I scan the room for a friendly face
I finally look down, and see you in your place
You’re by my side, unwavering in confidence and loyalty
Although “just a dog”, you have it in you, more than in me
I’ve been doing this solo for so many years
Feeling alone, defected, and filled with fear

At home we play, you bring me shoes, and toys, and the occasional sock…
But when I call you to get geared up to go
You change from Bear the pup, to Bear my rock
You allow me to hold my head up high,
take a deep breath, and walk outside
There will be times we are welcome less than expected
But I know in your eyes,
I am forever accepted

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

