And everything went well!  He is on a tad of a diet until he can lose about 2lbs though.  I feel so much better knowing that we are on track.

I don’t know what to expect from Bear at this point in our partnership, so it was really relieving to have an outsider come in and observe Bear and I together and know that we are where we should be.  When I am out with Bear, I feel like he is all over the place and ignoring me.  It was nice to have someone on the outside (who knows what we should look like in public) watch us and tell me that we really aren’t all out there like I imagined.

Bear and I do still have work.  Having a service dog doesn’t mean that when you get home that you’ll never have to work on training again; it is a constant thing that needs to be addressed.  I do, once a week, do sort of a training drill with Bear.  We stand in the kitchen and I work him through a lot of his commands and we practice the ones he seems to have trouble with.  Now it’s time to also do that in the front yard.  Another idea the trainer gave me was to try to get out to stores and just go in for training.  He said to try to keep it to roughly 15-20 minutes at a time, just me, Bear, and my daughter.  I can easily do this the mornings I take my son to school.  I know that Walmart and Home Depot are open that early and during the week there aren’t many people there to distract us.

2 thoughts

  1. I’m sure you will do fine! I hope the trainer gave you some helpful hints about Bear’s diet. NO MORE TREATS or junk food!
    You are lucky you live in the country so he has so much room to run. Maybe he can learn to stay near you when you go out for a horseride. That would be perfect PT for him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

