Well I have been getting myself and Bear ready for Washington DC.  I went to the vet and asked to borrow one of their slip leashes (just slips over their head).  I am hopeful that this will make going through security at the airport a little faster.  Usually I have to take his collar off and put it along with his vest in the screening bucket thing.  It usually takes me a good minute to get his collar off because he has a nice thick black leather collar.  With this I can just pack his regular collar in my carry on and use the slip leash.

I have my camcorder half way figured out so we can be real touristy and get some good home movies of where I have been.  I went yesterday with mom and bought some nice black pants, a nice shirt and a jacket so I can look respectable.. lol.  I have a few nice things at home I can bring but I really needed some plain black pants.  Got everything on sale at a great price but still found that I overspent.

I called the hotel already to make sure they knew I had a service dog and I’ve called the airlines and they have it in their notes.  I was able to get my trip there seats changed to the first row (there is no 1st class, so it’s just a regular seat but with more room for Bear).  Delta said they would change me to bulkhead when they see I have a service dog.

I am one of those people who stress unless I know exactly what is going to happen and how things are going to go.  This will be my first time flying without another human with me since coming back from Jordan in 03!  I’m glad I have Bear with me, but now I can’t have hubby run in places to get me things (like snacks) while Bear and I stand outside.  I’m nervous about everything.  I hate flying and though Bear makes it a tad better, I am still convinced I’m going to die in a plane crash every time.  I just have to remember this is all for a good cause and all so other veterans who are in my shoes are treated more fairly than I.

One thought

  1. Aimee,

    I don’t know if you remember me, but I am with Military to Medicine (formerly Operation Life Transformed). I just wanted to tell you that I have been following your blog and I commend you going to Washington DC and the work you are doing to make life better for veterans now and those who will follow in your footsteps. I also think it is great that you have taken the proactive step of working with Bear. I too, finally got a service dog, Patriot, and I am in the process of training him myself. I think this makes me more responsible for myself, as well as him.

    Kudos, my friend!
    Teresa

    Like

Leave a Reply

