What is it like to live half a life?
To look at a world behind gray empty eyes?
What is it like to be reminded every day
That you once lived life in an optimistic way?
To be told what you can and cannot have?
What you do and don’t deserve,
Because of your “issues”, your “Quirks”, somewhat absurd…
Brought on because you served?

What is it like to look at a child
Watch them run free
Watch them run wild
To feel the pang in your heart
…Who am I kidding?  Where do I start?

I understand half a life.
I am half a mom and half a wife.
Evidence that I lost myself out there
Can be found in the pictures that are tattered and taped
Proof that my innocence was raped.

Walking around, lost and confused
Somewhere over there is the me I once knew
My shell came back to live this “life”
Half a mother and half a wife.

 

Leave a Reply

