I posted a post a while back about Harley not doing so well.  On January 24, 2011 I helped him die peacefully and pain free.  His health had taken a dramatic turn for the worse.  We got to gather around him and say our good byes the night before.  I cried and loved on him, he licked my tears.  His body was getting cold so I knew he was shutting down already.  His feet were cold, his legs were cold, his tongue was cold.  That night I slept on the couch with him, knowing it was our last night together.  I begged him to go that night, to spare me the pain of making that drive to the vet the next day.  Harley was stubborn though…  The next morning I think he knew what was happening.  He looked at me in a way that if he could talk, he would have said, “It’s time.”  I drove him to the vet and they sedated him.  He licked my tears until he was too relaxed to do much other than look around.  For the first time in a month he stopped shaking from the pain.  He looked like he felt so much better.  After he was asleep the vet administered the final shot and Harley crossed the bridge.  I cried uncontrollably.  I made the drive home alone.  Just me and his collar.  I had a hard time that first day but after that I felt relief.  I was relieved that I made good on my promise to do right by my animals, no matter the cost to me.  I did make his pain go away just as I had promised him I would.  I still hurt for him when I look at the places he used to lay.  I still miss him and am not ready for another Boxer yet.  I know I love the breed too much to not get another one at some point, but I don’t know when I will be able to.  The right one will come along and that will be the one for me.

In other news.  We learned we are expecting another baby.  It is due in September.  I only found out right before putting Harley to sleep so it had been sort of over shadowed.  I am still going to school though Bear has not attended with me since my morning sickness kicked in.  His smell is nauseating to me.  :o(  Any dog smell for that matter.  Poor guy.

 

Leave a Reply

