It has been a rough last few weeks here.  Without getting into details, I wanted to share the lessons I have learned through this ordeal.

It is sad that it took an illness to open the eyes of some of us, myself included.  

You can never say “I love you” too much.  

Holding the hand of someone you love who is scared and in pain is gut wrenching, but eye opening at the same time.  

You never have enough time to get to know your roots.

I learned to value things; a root beer float with my father and his cousin; take the time to really listen to memories of others; memorize the lines on a face or sound of a voice.  I saw the joy my child could bring to someone else. 

I’ve cycled through so many emotions these past two or three weeks.  Pain, joy, anger, resentment, frustration, worry.  I am mad at myself for not taking the time I should have to get to know my relatives better. I am angry with myself for not having my children more involved with their family.  But it isn’t too late.  I am blessed that my eyes are more open now.  I am thankful that this lesson was brought to me and I can only hope I learn from it like I should.Image

Leave a Reply

